Notice Anything Different?

So my blog grew up. Instead of the kid in baggy jeans and oversized shows, it has morphed into a suave, suit-and-tie (and shiny shoes) professional.
..yeah, thats not a hopeful metaphor for aaanything at all.

But yeah, I decided it was about time to change things around here. While I was shopping for new themes that would fit the new header that I made, I quite liked the slick minimalist style that this ‘Chunk Theme’ has. And you know what? Turns out that this was made by someone I know! How cool is that?
..Tran Nguyen, fellow winner of the myOE arc of 2010 (featured elsewhere in this blog) made this theme! It goes without saying that I am super impressed.

So I havent taken very many pictures to lately, I’m not too sure why. Note to self: Carry a charged camera around more often and photobomb take interesting snaps to share with the world.
‘World’ being the readers that I have, anyway.
Fine, so I don’t have that many readers.
Okay, they’re just family.
Shut up, I can google myself if I want to.

Speaking of family, my mum just got out of surgery the other day. She had had to remove her gall bladder, because it turns out gallstones cause a lot of pain and grief. I’m glad the surgery went well, and that she had a great birthday (!) as well. Card is on the way, I swear!

So the UofT campus is actually pretty impressive. It’s historically a collegiate university, meaning it’s comprised of twelve colleges, each with its own history and traditions before they became mutually known as the ‘University of Toronto’.
This also means that the campus is quite a bit larger than the University of Victoria, of course.

Toronto has subways and is flat though, so it’s less of a hassle to get between campuses. Recently I started using their library, cause while my basement is pretty awesome, i’ll need some pretense of being socially accepted here in Toronto. I’ll be going to a couchsurfing meeting on Tuesday (after Labour Day) so here’s to making some friends! Yay!

Hit the jump for a couple more pictures.

UofT library

UofT Path


Doesn’t this look all secretive? It really wasn’t though I had to wait quite a while to get hold of a time where no-one was walking. It was a seriously hot day too.

Speaking of hot days -> Waiting for Hanee -> Sweaty Armpits -> I did my first laundry today!
I should get a medal or something for that.

In other news, Hanee brought over a video camera yesterday, so we took some shots of us having fun at the nearby playground. Let me just edit them briefly and i’ll have them up here in no time. I’m trying to quickly learn some tips on building a virtual portfolio (slash actually having things to put in the portfolio) so guess i’ll be spending a lot more time in this here basement. Lonered.

Well, I could always go and steal some internet from the university I suppose.

Lunch with Hanee

PS: Sorry if the blog is a little untidy, i’ll have to format the sidebars so they’re not all over the place.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Notice Anything Different?

  1. Can’t wait to see the edited video. What’s the student population in UofT?

  2. 0jay says:

    About 70,000 I think, according to the 2008/09 reports. Including International Students, maybe about 10,000 more?
    Vic numbers are much less – around the 20,000 mark.

    Work on the video is slow. Haha.

  3. Tran says:

    Haha, thanks for using it, JX! And whoo, I get my own tag :p

    • 0jay says:

      Haha yeah awesome theme though. One day, I’ll make my own. I was thinking of getting premium so I can play around with CSS..

Leave a Reply

